Sunday, March 02, 2008

Those Echo awards results at last.

Germany's national music awards were announced a couple of weeks ago but I'm only getting round to putting the results on here. The Echo Awards are based on the year's best selling recording artists rather than the usual juries or phone votes. So here are the results:

Male Artist - Herbert Gronemeyer
Female Artist - LaFee
International Male - James Blunt
International Female - Nelly Furtado
Group - Die Fantastischen Vier
Group - Linkin Park
Hip Hop - Bushido
International Hip Hop - 50 Cent
Rock Act - Die Arzte
International Rock Act - Nightwish
Album - "12" - Herbert Gronemeyer
Newcomer - Mark Medlock
International Newcomer - Mika
Single - "Ein Stern" - DJ Otzi & Nik P
Live Act - Bushido
Video - "Spring Nicht" - Tokio Hotel

...not too many surprises in there, but only one award for Tokio Hotel. Still it's another one to add to their growing collection. Last week's Pop Xport on DW-TV reported that the boys are now trying to break North America and already have a growing band of obsessive fans over there. World domination awaits!!

No comments: